脑部健康

神经治疗学将是生物医疗科学发展的下一个前沿领域。

神经治疗学将是生物医疗科学发展的下一个前沿领域。

大脑决定了我们如何思考,我们做什么,我们是谁。随着年龄增长,我们的大脑会不可避免的发生变化,包括神经元死亡、突触损失、大脑萎缩和认知障碍。在最极端的情况下,神经退行性过程会引发认知障碍,正如我们在阿尔茨海默氏症和其他痴呆症中所看到的那样。Cerecin 致力于维护健康人群和脑部疾病患者的大脑功能。

Cerecin 的治疗领域
"阿尔茨海默症"

阿尔茨海默氏症(AD)是一种与年龄相关的神经退行性疾病,其主要特征在于记忆力和语言功能的逐步衰退,在病理上是大脑中积累老年斑和神经原纤维缠结。尽管人们对阿尔茨海默氏症的研究已取得重大进展,但目前仍存在对阿尔茨海默氏症新疗法的巨大需求。在未来 50 年内,大多数发达国家将面临严重的人口老龄化问题,预计将导致阿尔茨海默氏症的患病率大幅提高。而阿尔茨海默氏症患者人数的增加将会给发达国家带来沉重的社会和经济负担。

尽管早在 100 多年前人们就认识到了阿尔茨海默氏症的存在,但对其病因却一直缺乏全面了解。而且不幸的是,针对阿尔茨海默氏症的药物研发十分困难,多数失败,鲜有成功。目前,仅有五种药物获批用于治疗阿尔茨海默氏症,其中包括四种胆碱酯酶抑制剂(他克林、多奈哌齐、卡巴拉汀、加兰他敏)和一种N-甲基-D-天门冬氨酸(NMDA)受体拮抗剂(美金刚)。而且自 2003 年以来,再无新的化合物获批用于治疗阿尔茨海默氏症。阿尔茨海默氏症药物研发屡屡失败,小分子和免疫疗法均未显示出显著疗效,或是出现不可接受的毒性。因此,目前人们对阿尔茨海默氏症创新疗法存在巨大需求。

缺少新疗法以及现有药物疗效不佳,一方面严重影响了患者及其家人的生活,另一方面也对许多发达国家和新兴国家的经济造成了影响。2013 年,据估算,美国痴呆症(主要是阿尔茨海默氏症)的总护理费用为 2150 亿美元。而进一步的估算表明,随着美国人口逐步老龄化,到 2040 年,痴呆症患病率的上升将导致社会总成本增加近 80%,总护理费用将达到约 5110 亿美元。因此,迫切需要研发出延迟疾病发生或疾病发展的新疗法1。随着亚洲老龄人口激增,阿尔茨海默氏症的患病率也在增加。预计到 2050 年,全球患痴呆症的人数将增加到 1.35 亿,其中近一半来自亚太地区2

  1. Hurd, M. D., P. Martorell, et al. (2013). "Monetary costs of dementia in the United States." N Engl J Med 368(14): 1326-34.
  2. Alzheimer's Disease International. Dementia in the Asia-Pacific region. November 2014.


婴儿痉挛

婴儿痉挛(IS),又称“West综合征”,是一种发生于婴儿的癫痫症。婴儿痉挛是一种复杂的罕见毁灭性疾病,如不及早治疗,后果极其严重。婴儿痉挛(对于症状性婴儿痉挛)可能是由脑部感染、宫内缺氧、代谢或免疫缺陷等其他情况引起的,但也可能查无病因(对于隐源性婴儿痉挛)。大多数患有婴儿痉挛的婴儿会在 1 岁前发病。

其临床特征包括肌痉挛,可能会累及全身,也可能出现屈肌或伸肌。而一些肌痉挛表现非常不明显,类似于点头。肌痉挛倾向于集中发生,可能一天内会发作多次。除了典型的肌痉挛,另一个临床特征是 EEG 明显异常,包括节律非常紊乱,即高度节律失常。发育迟缓通常是该疾病的第三个临床特征。肌痉挛本身可能会在孩子到了 4 岁时停止,但是,一些患者会继续引发其他癫痫疾病,并且,许多患者都出现学习障碍。但如果及早治疗,最好是在出现症状后的一个月内,那么,患有该疾病的儿童预后效果会更为乐观。

婴儿痉挛的黄金标准疗法为促肾上腺皮质激素 (ACTH)、皮质类固醇(如泼尼松龙)或氨己烯酸(VGB)3。 然而,目前的疗法都伴有严重的副作用,尽管初期治疗使病情得到了缓解,但有相当一部分病例仍出现了复发。

因此,目前亟需其他安全有效的药物来满足该需求,这类药物要让婴幼儿耐受良好,并且不需要与当前获批疗法相同水平的监管和实验室评估。

针对目前尚无 FDA 批准的治疗婴儿痉挛的生酮介入疗法和生酮治疗,Cerein 已研发出一种名为 tricaprilin 的研究性化合物。经研究,该药物可提高婴儿痉挛大鼠模型的血浆酮水平,减少肌痉挛发作。Tricaprilin 目前正处于临床开发阶段,以研究患有这种毁灭性疾病的婴儿每日服用 tricaprilin 的安全性、耐受性和有效性。

Tricaprilin 的安全性和有效性目前尚未确定

  1. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10072-020-04600-5


偏头痛

偏头痛是世界三大最常见疾病之一,全世界范围内有 10 亿人患有此疾病。该神经系统疾病特征是发作时头部出现中度到重度的刺痛,目前尚无法治愈。在某些情况下,可能会有所谓的偏头痛先兆,头痛过程中可能会出现感觉障碍,如视力模糊、闪光或盲点。任何人都有可能会受偏头痛侵扰,但最有可能发生在有偏头痛家族史的人群中,而且 18-44 岁之间的女性占多数。4

虽然科学尚无法解释引起偏头痛的原因,但有研究指出,化合物和激素,如血清素和雌激素,与偏头痛的严重程度相关联。偏头痛会降低生产率、导致病假天数增加以及医疗成本升高,会给社会带来巨大的经济负担。仅在美国,偏头痛造成的工作日缺勤超过 1.57 亿。5

目前,针对偏头痛的预防性处方药物有阿米替林和其他三环抗抑郁药、普萘洛尔和其他β-受体阻滞药、钙通道阻滞剂、托吡酯和其他抗癫痫药物,以及一类新药物,即降钙素基因相关肽 (GCRP) 拮抗剂。6

目前针对急性偏头痛的处方药物有对乙酰氨基酚、非甾体抗炎药 (NSAIDs)、曲坦类药物、NSAID-曲坦类药物联合用药、双氢麦角胺、非阿片类联合镇痛药、几种止吐药以及一些 CGRP 拮抗剂。

尽管人们对偏头痛的了解在不断增加,而且最近也批准了治疗偏头痛的新疗法,但开发更多的药物治疗仍任重道远。

据报道,生酮饮食 (KD) 可减少偏头痛发病频率。而 Tricaprilin 作为一种研究性药物,已证实可诱导酮症,目前正研究用于偏头痛预防治疗。

Tricaprilin 的安全性和有效性目前尚未确定。

Brain Health MRI

  1. https://migraineresearchfoundation.org/about-migraine/migraine-facts/#:~:text=Migraine%20is%20most%20common%20between,a%20family%20history %20of%20migraine
  2. https://migraineresearchfoundation.org/about-migraine/migraine-facts/
  3. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/17/health/migraines-prevention-drug-aimovig.html
BacktoTop

Brain Health

The development of neurotherapeutics is the next frontier in biomedical science.

The development of neurotherapeutics is the next frontier in biomedical science.

The brain determines how we think, what we do, who we are. As we age, changes to our brain inevitably occur, including death of neurons, loss of synapses, brain shrinkage and cognitive impairment. In the most extreme cases, cognitive impairment is due to neurodegenerative processes, including those seen in Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. Cerecin is committed to the maintenance of brain function in health and disease.

Our Therapeutic Areas
Alzheimer's disease

Alzheimer's disease (AD) is an age-associated, neurodegenerative disease characterized by a progressive decline in memory and language, and, pathologically, by accumulation of senile plaques and neurofibrillary tangles in the brain. Despite significant advances in AD research, there exists a tremendous need for new AD therapies. Most developed countries will experience a dramatic demographic shift toward an older population in the next 50 years, which is anticipated to greatly increase the prevalence of AD. The rise in the number of AD patients will place a tremendous social and economic burden on the developed world.

Despite being identified over 100 years ago, the cause of Alzheimer's disease is still not well understood. Unfortunately, drug development for AD has proven to be very difficult, with few successes and many failures. Currently, only 5 drugs are approved for the treatment of AD including 4 cholinesterase inhibitors (tacrine, donepezil, rivastigmine, galantamine) and an N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor antagonist (memantine). No new compounds have been approved for AD since 2003. Many failures in AD drug development have occurred, with both small molecules and immunotherapies failing to show significant effects or having unacceptable toxicity. As a result, there is a tremendous need for innovative AD therapies.

The lack of new treatments and the repeated failure of pipeline drugs have significantly impacted not only the lives of patients and associated family members, but also the economies of many developed and emerging countries. In 2013, it was calculated that the total cost for dementia care (largely AD) in the US was $215 billion. Further calculations demonstrated that the increasing prevalence of dementia, due to the aging of the US population will result in an increase of nearly 80% in total societal costs by 2040, with total care costs of approximately $511 billion. Therefore, the development of new treatments that delay onset or progression of the disease is desperately needed11. As the number of elderly surges in Asia, so does the prevalence of AD. Globally, the number of people with dementia is expected to increase to 135 million in 2050 with almost half of these cases coming from the Asia Pacific region2.

  1. Hurd, M. D., P. Martorell, et al. (2013). "Monetary costs of dementia in the United States." N Engl J Med 368(14): 1326-34.
  2. Alzheimer's Disease International. Dementia in the Asia-Pacific region. November 2014.


Infantile Spasms

Infantile Spasms (IS), also known as West Syndrome, is a form of epilepsy that occurs in infants. Infantile Spasms is a complex, rare and devastating disorder which can lead to severe consequences if not treated early. IS may occur as the result of another condition (symptomatic IS), such as infections of the brain, oxygen deficiency in the womb, metabolic and immunologic disorders, or there may be no identified etiology (cryptogenic IS). The majority of infants with IS present before the age of 1 year.

The clinical features include spasms which may involve the whole body, and which may be flexor or extensor. Some spasms are very subtle and resemble head nods. Spasms tend to occur in clusters and may be very numerous over the course of the day. In addition to the typical spasms, significant EEG abnormalities, including a very disorganized rhythm known as hypsarrhythmia, are seen. Developmental delay completes the usual triad of features. The spasms themselves may cease by the age of 4, however some patients go on to develop other seizure disorders and many are left with learning disabilities. If treatment begins early, ideally within 1 month of symptoms, prognosis for children with the disorder can be more positive.

Gold standard treatments for Infantile Spasms are adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH), corticosteroids (e.g. prednisolone), or vigabatrin (VGB)3. Current treatments are associated with serious side effects and there are a substantial proportion of cases in which there is recurrence despite initial remission with treatment.

There is an urgent, unmet need for additional safe and effective drug treatments that can be well tolerated in infants and young children, and that don’t require the same level of monitoring and laboratory assessments as currently approved treatments.

There are no FDA approved ketogenic interventions or treatments for IS. Cerecin has developed an investigational compound called tricaprilin, which has been shown to elevate plasma ketone levels and reduce spasms in a rat model of infantile spasms. Tricaprilin is currently in clinical development to investigate the safety, tolerability, and efficacy of daily administration of tricaprilin in infants with this devastating condition.

The safety and efficacy of tricaprilin have not been established

  1. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10072-020-04600-5


Migraine

Migraine is the third most common disease in the world, affecting 1 billion people worldwide. There is no cure for this neurologic disorder, characterised by attacks of moderate to severe throbbing head pain. In some cases, the so-called migraine with aura, the headaches may be accompanied by sensory disturbances, such as blurred vision, flashes of light, or blind spots. Migraine can affect anyone, but is most likely to occur in people who have family history of migraine and is most common in women between the ages of 18-44.4

Science has yet to fully understand the causes of migraine, but research points towards chemical compounds and hormones such as serotonin and estrogen playing a role in the severity of migraine pain. Migraine places a huge economic burden on societies through lost productivity, sick days and higher healthcare costs. In the US alone, more than 157 million workdays are lost due to migraine.5

Currently prescribed preventative medications for migraine include amitriptyline and other tricyclic antidepressants, propranolol and other beta-blockers, calcium channel blockers, topiramate and other anti-epileptic agents, and the new class of drugs, known as Calcitonin Gene Related Peptide (GCRP) antagonists.6

Currently prescribed treatments for acute migraine attacks include acetaminophen, nonsteroidal anti- inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), triptans, NSAID-triptan combinations, dihydroergotamine, non-opioid combination analgesics, and several anti-emetics, as well as some CGRP antagonists.

Despite increased understanding of migraine and recently approved novel therapies for people with migraine, there remains a need for the development of additional drug treatments.

Ketogenic diets (KD) have been reported to reduce migraine frequency. Tricaprilin is an investigational agent that has been shown to induce ketosis and is currently being investigated for the preventative treatment of migraine.

The safety and efficacy of tricaprilin have not been established.

Brain Health MRI

  1. https://migraineresearchfoundation.org/about-migraine/migraine-facts/#:~:text=Migraine%20is%20most%20common%20between,a%20family%20history %20of%20migraine
  2. https://migraineresearchfoundation.org/about-migraine/migraine-facts/
  3. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/17/health/migraines-prevention-drug-aimovig.html
BacktoTop